

IEEE STUDENT BRANCH

Indian Institute Of Information Technology

Deoghat, Jhalwa Allahabad-211012, UP, India (Student Branch Code: STB14321)



Minutes of 2nd Ex-Com Meeting of IEEE-SB-IIITA for session 2016-17

(September 26, 2016)

IEEE-SB IIITA Chairperson Mr. Vinod Kumar Jatav called an executive committee (ExCom) meeting on Sept 26, 2016 in order to discuss various agendas decided earlier such as organizing coding event SYNERGY- 2016, finalize the coordinators/team members and many more. Furthermore, he emphasized that the size of a committee must conform to the structure of total 10 members with combining both coordinators and team members under the supervision of a single chairperson. The committees can't have more than 3 coordinators.



Agendas which were proposed for the discussion in 2^{nd} Ex-com meeting are as follows:

Agenda 1: The Handling Publication Committee should be renamed to Publication Committee and Volunteers should be called as Team Member.

Decision: In the meet, it was decided that the committee should be known officially as Publication Committee in place of Handling Publication Committee. Also the volunteers of any committee will be called as Team Members as they are also an integral part of IEEE SB. Web Management Committee is conveyed to update the same on the IIITA IEEE-SB website.

Agenda 2: The approval of the selected coordinators for all the Chapters/Committees. **Decision:** Final list of the coordinators for all the chapters/committees was announced and approved. New names were added in the list as per the suggestions provided by the chairperson of the respective committees.

Agenda 3: Name of inactive office bearers needed to be discussed.

Decision: Performance and contribution of every office bearer was discussed in the meeting and an informal warning was given to inactive office bearers to improve their performance.



IEEE STUDENT BRANCH

Indian Institute Of Information Technology

Deoghat, Jhalwa Allahabad-211012, UP, India (Student Branch Code: STB14321)



Agenda 4: Proposal of SPS Coding Contest SYNERGY 2016 by Mr. Sudhakar Mishra. **Decision:** Event coordinator Mr. Sudhakar Mishra briefed about the proceedings of the SYNERGY 2016 with the details of various phases of the event and overall event plan.

Agenda 5: Proposal of poster presentation by Mr. Shrikant Malviya.

Decision: Postponed and final time yet to be decided further.

Agenda 6: Proposal of TechTalk by Dr. Amit Dhar and Dr. Rishi Ranjan.

Decision: Talk by Dr. Amit Dhar will be organized by Mr. Sagar and Mr. Jayesh and talk by Dr. Rishi ranjan will be organized by Mr. Swapnaneel Nandy.

Agenda 7: Proposal of the events for IEEE Day Celebration by IEEE-SB-IIITA.

Decision: Different committees suggested various events for IEEE day such as:

- 1. Technical Talk by Prof. U. S. Tiwary and Prof. S. Sanyal/ Prof. Shekhar Verma.
- 2. LOGO designing competition by WIE (WIE Affinity Group).

Agenda 8: Status of Bank Account opening process for IEEE-SB-IIITA (Passed in 1st ExCom Meeting – 04/08/2016).

Decision: Report of progress on the respected proposal was taken into account and various threats and benefits were discussed by Mr. Sumit Kumar (Treasurer) & Mr. Vaibhav Malviya (Chairperson, Finance Committee). Final decision will be taken shortly.

Agenda 9: Status of proposal for IEEE Membership registration fee reimbursement from institute (B.Tech (2nd and 3rdYear) - 50%, M.Tech. (1st Year) - 75%, PhD (Upto 05 years from registration or date of thesis submission whichever is earlier - 100%).

Decision: Proposal letter would be submitted to Director, IIIT Allahabad for reimbursement of IEEE Membership or any one IEEE Society Membership fee for PhD Scholars at IIIT Allahabad.

Restrictions:

- 1. 100% reimbursement for Registration fee of IEEE/Any one of IEEE Society Membership.
- 2. Reimbursement policy would be applicable for 05 years from PhD Course registration or date of thesis submission whichever is earlier.

Agenda 10: Modifications in the Layout Design of Student Branch Website and regular updates by Web Management Team.

Decision: Following modifications were decided to be incorporated in the SB website:

- 1. Handling Publication Committee will be renamed as Publication Committee.
- 2. Volunteers will now be addressed as Team Members.
- 3. 'Reports' option will be shifted under 'Download' section from 'Activities'.
- 4. 'Press Release' option will also be added to 'Download' Section.

Agenda 11: IEEE Membership Drive 2016 by Membership Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA. **Decision:** Membership Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA will promote the benefits of IEEE membership for the young innovative minds so as to connect more and more people with IEEE.



IEEE STUDENT BRANCH

Indian Institute Of Information Technology

Deoghat, Jhalwa Allahabad-211012, UP, India (Student Branch Code: STB14321)



Agenda 12: Proposal of Coordinator/Volunteer certificate distribution for session 2015-16 on IEEE Day by IEEE-SB-IIITA.

Decision: Certificate distribution ceremony for all the Coordinators and Volunteers for past 2015-16 session is decided to be held on IEEE Day 2016 by IEEE-SB-IIITA.

Agenda 13: Suggestion of using email id at ieee.org for all the office bearers of IEEE-SB-IIITA. **Decision:** Mr. Vinod Kumar Jatav (Chairperson, IEEE) explained the benefits received with IEEE-email id. It is a suite of premium web applications offered only to those with IEEE membership. It will provide its members with a state-of-the-art toolset for productivity and electronic communication. Thus, all the members were suggested to use IEEE-email to be benefited and to promote its use.



Attendees:

- 1. Mr. Vinod Kumar Jatav, Chairperson, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 2. Mr. Padmakar Pandey, Vice Chairperson, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 3. Mr. Sudhakar Mishra, Secretary, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 4. Mr. Sumit Kumar, Treasurer, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 5. Mr. ShrikantMalviya, Chairperson, Publication Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 6. Mr. VaibhavMalviya, Chairperson, Finance Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 7. Mr. SwapnaneelNandy, Chairperson, Web Management Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 8. Mr. Shivam, Chairperson, Publicity Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 9. Mr. Pratik P. Mangalore, Chairperson, Industry Interface Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 10. Mr. SulyabThottungal, Chairperson, Event Management Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 11. Ms. Nidhi Verma, Vice-Chairperson, WIE Affinity Group, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 12. Mr. Swapnil Singh, Coordinator, Publication Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 13. Ms. Mansi Choudhary, Member, Publication Committee, IEEE-SB-IIITA
- 14. Mr. Aryaan A. Singh, Coordinator, Industry Interface, IEEE-SB-IIITA